Raw Feeding 101

• Raw Feeding 101

Posted by Arlington on January 23, 2021 at 9:00 AM

Firstly hats off to Rob for giving us the opportunity to share, learn and discuss.

I created this thread for those of us who have working dogs or pet dogs to share information on raw feeding. Recipes, sourcing ingredients and finding suppliers, supplements, trouble shooting, and general health and fitness. With the core video Rob showed today, I thought that this will be a good thread to start.

This my working line standard poodle, he is almost one year and fully raw fed.

i will start this thread off by asking what natural flea and tick remedies do you all use or add to your dogs food? he does duck hunting and trailing so ticks are a concern of mine. As a science student, i have read some of the research on some of the known flea and tick pesticides, so for the most part I avoid them.

Cheri replied 3 years, 1 month ago 6 Members · 13 Replies
  • 13 Replies
  • Logan C.

January 23, 2021 at 6:05 PM

I don’t know a whole lot about raw feeding but I do know that if your town has a butcher, you may be able to make a deal with them. Butchers will throw out things like skins, tallow, organs etc. but you can make a deal to buy the scraps at a lower price.

Since the goal is to get as close to the dogs ancestral diet as possible, it is important to get things like organs and skin into the diet.

I’ve also read to grind bones into bone dust and sprinkle it into the food. It provides a source of calcium and wolves typically get this when they’re chewing on the bones.

In order to mimic the vegetables present In the stomach of a wolves prey, you can blend veggies up into a purée and mix it into the meat.

Different types of game meat are best on a dog’s digestive system such as: rabbit, dear, elk etc.

You can cut up whole beef livers into bite sized pieces and freeze them. You can use these for training treats. I haven’t tried this but I’m willing to bet that it works pretty good.